Thinking Skills

De Bono's Six Thinking Hats

Edward de Bono is regarded by many as the leading authority in the field of creative thinking, innovation and the direct teaching of thinking as a skill. He is equally renowned for his development of the Six Thinking Hats. The Six Thinking Hats method provides a practical method of constructive thinking. Each thinking role is identified with a coloured hat as shown to the right. Six Thinking Hats is a simple, effective parallel thinking process that helps people be more productive, focused, and mindfully involved.

The Six Thinking Hats (or modes)

  • The White Hat calls for information known or needed.

  • The Red Hat signifies feelings, hunches and intuition.

  • The Black Hat is judgment -- the devil's advocate or why something may not work.

  • The Yellow Hat symbolizes brightness and optimism.

  • The Green Hat focuses on creativity: the possibilities, alternatives and new ideas.

  • The Blue Hat is used to manage the thinking process.

See for further information.